Centre for International Finance and Regulation | Law

Centre for International Finance and Regulation

Ros Grady
+61 2 9931 9342
E-mail address: 

The Centre was established last year, after UNSW Law School and the Australian School of Business successfully led a consortium of six Australian universities in a bid to host the new federally-funded Centre.

Its role is assisting business, government and regulators to meet the challenges presented by the globalisation of financial services and capital flows through world-class research and educational activities.

The Centre brings together some of the world's leading experts on finance and regulation:

  • Six leading Australian universities, each with prestigious international research reputations in finance, law and economics – UNSW; the University of Sydney; Macquarie University; University of Technology, Sydney; the University of Melbourne; and the Australian National University.
  • Two Sydney-based, internationally distinguished capital markets research and development centres – the Capital Markets Cooperative Research Centre and the Securities Industry Research Centre of Asia-Pacific
  • Two world-leading finance research centres: NYU’s Salomon Centre and Volatility Institute and UCLA’s Fink Centre

The Centre’s high powered board is chaired by Peter Mason. Other members are Federal Treasury Secretary Martin Parkinson; chairman of the NSW Innovation Council and managing director of Morgan Stanley Australia, Steven Harker; chairman of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, John Laker; and Group Chief Risk Officer of the Commonwealth Bank, Alden Toevs.

The board also include four nominees of the major partner universities: for UNSW, Professors Fred Hilmer and Alec Cameron, Dean of the Australian School of Business; for Sydney University, Vice-Chancellor Dr Michael Spence; and for Macquarie University, Vice-Chancellor Professor Stephen Schwartz.